First Impressions of Big Hero 6

As mentioned earlier, I had the great joy of seeing Disney’s Big Hero 6 in theaters this weekend! It was a wonderful film, and yet another success by Walt Disney Animation Studios.

I was so excited to share my thoughts on this film right away, and I really wanted to start a conversation about it. So, in addition to blogging about my favorite aspects of Big Hero 6 below, I also made a vlog, in which I (very enthusiastically) share my initial reaction:

What I loved about Big Hero 6:

1. San Fransokyo. This is the make-believe city that serves as the location of Big Hero 6. It’s such a creative and interesting setting, and brought to life with beautiful animation and color!

2. The Characters. All of them, but especially Hiro and Baymax. Their journey together is funny, adventurous and heartwarming. I especially love Baymax and all of the quirky and silly situations he causes!

3. The Action. This is not your typical Disney film! There were car chases, battle scenes and more that clearly showed the Marvel story and comic book that inspired the movie.

4. The Music. I am a huge music nerd, and this film offered an incredible score and soundtrack. It was the perfect mix of fitting background orchestration and modern, upbeat songs.

5. The Application. I can see many moments of this film inspiring Disney theme park attractions, and hope that they do soon! I also loved the values of innovation, invention, creativity and discovery that were expressed in the film, and was very happily reminded of Epcot.

6. The Credits. Never. Underestimate. The. Power. Of. The. Credits. Thank. You. Disney.

Leave a comment